The herds gradually grew larger, to the extent that at the end of the 17th century, it was clearly vital to construct a specific place for them, a menagerie at least as worthy as that of Louis XIV in Versailles. At the crossroads between zoology, wildlife architecture, art and scientific curiosity, it became an integral part of 17th and 18th century cultural and social life until it began to gradually disappear in 1792.
Following on from the exhibition on the Orangerie of Chantilly in 2017, the archives department is now resuscitating, at the intersection between history, natural history and architecture, another part of the grounds that also contributed greatly to the renown of the château and its owners from the 16th to the 18th century.
Visitors can discover rare and unpublished documents from the Chantilly archives and library, the Condé Museum, or on loan from the Library of the Institut de France and the National Natural History Museum. The exhibition unveils the multiple sources of historic work and the difficulty entailed in its reconstitution.
The public can prolong their exploration of the Domain’s wildlife history by viewing the singeries in the Condé Museum, or admiring some paintings or porcelain objects in a new light. Younger visitors can also participate in special activities on the theme of animals and the collection.
Venue: Château /the Reading Room
Exhibition included in the 1-day ticket with no extra charge
Florent Picouleau, Archives manager at the Condé Museum.